Bert's blog

Some general programming experiences

After 51 weeks of writing posts, Iā€™m pretty much out of good topics to write about, so I thought I would finish my year of posts with some general remarks about things I havenā€™t really talked about (too) much yet. There is no real general topic here, and some of it might be quite random.

Avoid unnecessary function inversions

Recently, I came across a numerical maths problem that gave me a lot of issues, until I suddenly realised things were a lot easier than I thought. The realisation was basically that computers always deal with discrete representations of mathematical functions (say, ), and that it does not matter if you take a discrete range of values and then compute from that, or if you sample discrete values of and then compute .

Why does this matter? In the problem I encountered, I had a distribution function for a quantity called , a shape factor for a geometrical object called a spheroid (none of this is really important). The distribution function, , was given by

and defined for a clearly set out range of values. The factor itself is related to the axis ratio, , of the spheroid by

for , and a similar but annoyingly different expression for .

What I needed to get was the distribution function for the axis ratio , given the distribution function for the shape factor and the various expressions that relate and . My first naive approach was to set up a discrete range in values and then numerically invert the relations to get a corresponding value for . Unfortunately, this inversion turned out to be pretty difficult. Furthermore, it turned out to be difficult to figure out when to use which expression for given a value of , since the distinction vs is not as clear in space.

After struggling with this for longer than I would want to admit, I realised it is actually a lot easier to set up a range of axis ratios , use those to compute a range of values (no numerical inversion required) and then compute the distribution function for those. Added advantage: to convert the distribution function from space to space, it also needs to be multiplied with the Jacobian of that coordinate transformation, , which is again much easier to compute as a function of .

So in general: if you need to compute a mathematical function numerically, it is well worth considering the difference between a forward computation of , or an inverse computation , depending on which one of those is easiest. For most practical purposes, both will lead to the same result, e.g. for visualisation or as part of a larger calculation. The only reason to actually stick to a forward calculation is if your input values are really and you need to compute or if you need to have control over the sampling in .

Visualisation is key

This might just be because of the way I think and work, but I find it incredibly helpful to see things. Things in this context is pretty much anything: mathematical functions like the ones above, grid structures like the ones used in hydrodynamical integration codes or Monte Carlo radiation transfer codes, geometrical shapes like spheroids, and even flow charts and task plots that show the structure and progress of a parallel algorithm.

The reason for this is simple: all of these things are to a certain extent very abstract, and visualising them helps you understand them. Mathematical expressions like the relation above are not incredibly hard, but it is still worth having a look at their graph to see what shape they have and how they behave in the domain where they are defined. If you do that, you see that has some weird asymptotic behaviour for , which explains why it so hard to invert this function. The same goes for functions that you want to integrate numerically: if the function is badly behaved, visualising it can show you why you have trouble computing its integral for some values. And by comparing the surface area under the curve you see visually with the result you get, you can check whether your integration routine returns a sensible result.

For algorithms (especially parallel ones) flow charts offer you an easier way to check the large structure of your program, and help spot missing dependencies or obvious bottlenecks. Task plots are very good at exposing load imbalances and will give you a very good idea of where most of your program time is spent. This is crucial information to decide where optimisation would be most beneficial.

The weird effect of this importance of visualisation is that I spend quite a lot of time on writing visualisation code: Python scripts that make diagrams or function graphs, but also specific code to output the necessary information from a code to generate flow charts and task plots. It also means I spent a lot of time already figuring out how various kinds of visualisation tools work, as obvious from the large fraction of past posts dealing with those topics. This is a lot of overhead, but as in a lot of cases, I think it is totally worth it.

First the test

As important as good visualisations are good tests. I have stated before that a code that has not been tested should be assumed to not work. This also means that if you do not have a test for a piece of code that you are planning to write, there is no point in writing that code. So before you start writing any piece of code, you should ask yourself two questions:

  1. Does a test for what I am about to write exist?
  2. If not, can I come up with a good test myself?

If the answer to both of these questions is negative, then you should probably not write the piece of code, as you will not be able to trust any of the results that come out of it.

Once you have a good test, it is also a good idea to already think about visualisation. What plot would convince you that your new code works? How do you make that plot? What data do you need to output to make the plot? This is not only practical towards the test itself, but can help you think about a good structure of your code. And if you do this part right, you will end up with a bunch of plotting scripts that can probably be helpful in the future too.

A healthy dose of curiosity

When I was still young and a PhD student, I spent an awful lot of time nosing around on the internet, just to figure out how things work. And I have come to realise in recent years that this has had some long term benefits.

To put this into context: when I was a PhD student, we had a nice tradition called pizza Friday: one of the Italian postdocs in the group would go to the local Italian approved pizzeria and would get pizza for lunch. After lunch, I would be pretty full, so Friday afternoon tended to be a very lazy time of the week. Then I would just start thinking about computers and software and things I did not know, like ā€œcan I run a CUDA computation on the GPU in my desktop?ā€ I would then spent the next hour just googling CUDA related stuff and try to run some small tutorials to convince myself that I could indeed do this.

By the end of that Friday, I would have a basic understanding of the topic (CUDA in this case), and I would have a small test program that I would then start restructuring into a somewhat satisfactory object-oriented structure. I would never actually use this for anything useful, but it would give me a sense of accomplishment and would help me understand something about that topic.

I didnā€™t do this every Friday, but I definitely did it a few times. And sometimes some of these topics would turn out to be useful in the long term: I definitely did use things like memory-mapping or Python API exposure in real applications, but usually years after I first learned about them. On top of that, these little expeditions into the unknown helped me to develop my own coding style, as they gave me an opportunity to write little programs from scratch very often. And they gave me a lot of background knowledge for future projects. Maybe one day I will come across a problem where I can actually use GPUsā€¦

So my advice would be to sometimes give in to this kind of curiosity. If you have a ā€œfreeā€ afternoon - you finished something and you donā€™t really feel like starting something new - then just think about small and slightly irrelevant things and try to figure out how they work. The worst thing that can happen is that you spend an afternoon figuring out that particular thing is quite complicated. But you can also end up discovering something that is actually useful, or just do something small and constructive that makes you feel good about yourself.

Write about it

This last item is pretty much the whole philosophy of academia. If you spent a lot of time developing something new and possibly complicated, it can be very useful to write or talk about it with other people. Presenting scientific work during a meeting or conference helps you put it into context: it gives you a better idea of where your work fits into the bigger picture. Writing or talking about complicated code concepts helps you structure them and disentangle the essential and non-essential aspects. No better way to really understand a topic than by lecturing about that topic. If a horde of knowledge-thirsty students will pick your brain after your lecture (thatā€™s what you imagine - they never actually do), you better understand the thing yourself.

So if you feel you are getting stuck designing a particularly challenging bit of code, it can really help to put it into words somehow. You can find a colleague and try to explain your problems to her, or you can open up an empty text document and just start typing. More often than not will you find yourself solving half of your issues in the process, by spotting little inconsistencies or things you overlooked. And even if all the things you write do make sense, it is still useful to have them written down or structured in your head in such a way that you can more easily present them later on.

This strategy is also useful when thinking about visualisation: try to imagine that the plot you are about to make has to convince a crowd of people that the thing you just did actually makes a difference. How do you convey this message most clearly?


Professional astronomer.